The Forgotten Fortress

IMG_5342Now you wouldn’t expect to feel like you’re in South Italy when you go to Goa. Portugal, yes, maybe. But this place had me feeling like I wasn’t where I was at all!

I’m a sucker for history and naturally, I love all broken down monuments and forts and such. This detour wasn’t even on the agenda, but I was driving around Reis Magos one afternoon just to soak in the beautiful Portuguese architecture in this area, and before I could get to it, I drove past this mother of a fort on a steep hill right along the Mandovi. I had never before even heard of this place or known that it existed. But I had to go in.

This fort has so much interesting history behind it, and I had the guard take me around and tell me all of it. Apparently, this fort, after having served as a defense to Old Goa for over 4 centuries, was also converted into a jail in the 50’s up until ’93! They even have isolation units and crack windows and holes in the ground which were used to pass food through, as well as to pour hot oil onto the captured convicts :/

It was then ordered for restoration in 2007 and re-opened only recently in 2012 and stands beautiful next to a church as well. Would recommend everyone to have a walk through.

But enough amateur history lessons from me. Moving on to the style bit, good old #RobeLife continues to live on, courtesy A&A of course, who are launching The Robe Lives, their very own brand and online shop for these beauties soon. The Weekender Duffel bag by Brandless makes for my all time favourite travel essential; ideal for weekend getaways. And to finish off the look perfectly, tasseled handcrafted Woven Mocassins by Modello Domani, that translate seamlessly from day to night, and can be worn formally as well.

IMG_5345

IMG_5333

IMG_5339

IMG_5341

IMG_5340

IMG_5337

IMG_5331

IMG_5334

IMG_5347

IMG_5350

IMG_5344

IMG_5332

IMG_5335

IMG_5336

IMG_5348

IMG_5346

IMG_5349

IMG_5352

IMG_5351

IMG_5338

 

WEARING:

Robe | The Robe Lives

T-shirt | H&M

Harem | Forever21

Duffel Bag | Brandless

Shoes | Modello Domani

Hat | H&M

Accessories | Tibetan Refugee Market/ Anjuna Flea Market

 

Shot by The Co Lab

2 thoughts on “The Forgotten Fortress

Leave a comment